We give each case the time and attention it deserves, and we treat everyone who walks through our doors like family.
From auto accidents to defective product injuries to workers’ compensation claims, we’re here to help Louisiana injury victims.
We value building relationships with the many people and organizations that make Louisiana a great place to live.
Dudley DeBosier has a trusted team of personal injury lawyers who have been helping injured people in Louisiana.
April 20th, 2020
It’s an unfortunately familiar
situation for many of us. You’re driving down the road when another car comes
out of nowhere. Suddenly, you’ve been hit. Or maybe you slam on the brakes but can’t
stop fast enough to avoid the other car.
In the best-case scenario, the
worst thing that happens is some minor damage to one or both vehicles. But even
accidents that don’t end with a totaled car can result in sprains, contusions,
damage to the neck and spine, and other painful injuries that may take weeks or
months to heal. And when you’ve been injured, you have big hospital bills you
need to pay.
When your accident wasn’t your
fault, you can get compensation through the at-fault driver’s insurance, but
what happens when the other driver says the accident was your fault and not
Depending on which state your
accident occurs in, different laws will dictate what happens next.
Louisiana follows a “pure
comparative negligence” doctrine, which means that more than one person can be
held at fault for an accident, and all parties are eligible for compensation
for their damages and injuries. However, it is still very important to make
sure that the correct percentage of fault is assigned, because each driver’s
compensation is reduced according to their own percentage of fault.
For example, if a driver sustains
$100,000 in damages, and is assigned 30% of the fault, their settlement will be
reduced by 30% ($30,000) and they will receive only $70,000. But that doesn’t
reduce the driver’s needs after an accident. Unless you want to come up $30,000
short of what you need to pay your bills after your crash, you will need an
experienced Louisiana car accident lawyer to help you prove you were not at
After a car crash, insurance
adjusters will conduct an investigation by reviewing the statements from the
drivers, analyzing the police report, and inspecting the damage to the cars to
determine who was at fault.
However, if you disagree with the
assessment of the insurance adjuster, the burden of proof lies on you.
If you’re able to do so after the
crash, following these steps can help you and your lawyer prove you weren’t at
fault for the accident:
When insurance adjusters refuse to
pay what you need or assign you an unfair percentage of the fault after a
crash, you may need a lawyer to take the matter to court.
An experienced auto accident lawyer, like those at Dudley DeBosier Injury Lawyers, will have seen many accidents similar to yours and know how insurance adjusters think. They will be able to bring in witness testimony, recreate the scene of the accident, and demonstrate precisely why you are not at fault, or why your percentage of fault should be reduced.
A lawyer will also be able to take
care of the paperwork to make sure you don’t miss out on any important
deadlines while you recover. They can also prepare a demand letter on your
behalf that explains your side of events, refutes any arguments toward your
fault, and explains the damages you are owed.
Unsure whether legal
representation can help you after an accident where you were unfairly assigned
some or all of the blame? Contact the team at Dudley DeBosier Injury Lawyers. There
is no charge for your initial consultation, and no obligation to hire us unless
you are satisfied we can help.