High School Scholarship Winners

May 18, 2017

The Dudley DeBosier Scholarship program is designed to help students in our community who are interested in attending college after their high school graduation. The scholarship is open to students who are expected to attend college within one year of their graduation. We have offered these scholarships for several years now and it is one of our favorite events each year. We get to meet some really great students who have overcome adversity to pursue their dreams. We are proud to provide them with some support and encouragement to continue that pursuit.

We received over 100 great applications this year, and the selection process was extremely difficult.

After much deliberation, we were able to select our winners, and we are proud to award eight $1,000 essay scholarships and one $2,000 public service announcement scholarship. This year’s winners are:


  1. Arionna Jackson graduating from Tara High School
  2. Zoe Forsyth graduating from Lutcher High School
  3. Mason Swain graduating from Walker High School
  4. Payson Swarner graduating from Port Allen High School
  5. Loveis Jackson graduating from Baton Rouge Magnet High School
  6. Amani Dotson graduating from Baton Rouge Magnet High School
  7. Chancey Cothren graduating from Destrehan High School
  8. Tyra Brown graduating from Port Allen High School


  1. Mackenzie Andrews graduating from East Ascension High School

Congratulations to all the 2017 high school graduates, and thank you for your participation!