Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Fireworks bring people together. The shared experience can promote a sense of community, making fireworks an integral part of many summer celebrations. Unfortunately, fireworks can be dangerous when mishandled, and local and state laws may regulate where and when you can launch your own.

The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) found that the number of firework-related injuries increased by 25% across the U.S. from 2006 to 2021.

Learn about Louisiana’s fireworks regulations, which ordinances restrict the use of fireworks, and how to handle and have fun with them safely.

What are Louisiana’s Statewide Firework Laws?

Laws in Louisiana regulate the type, sale, use, possession, safe storage, and public display of fireworks. The following are a few of the state’s most important fireworks laws:

The state allows people, businesses, and organizations to own and use Class C fireworks permitted under the CPSC and the United States Department of Transportation. Class C fireworks are common fireworks permitted for consumer use. These fireworks include:

  • Fountains
  • Sparklers
  • Spinners and wheels
  • Mines and shells
  • Roman candles
  • Bottle rockets and sky rockets
  • Firecrackers

Some Fireworks Are Restricted

Some fireworks are prohibited under Louisiana law. They include:

  • Cherry bombs
  • Tubular salutes and two-inch American-made salutes
  • Fireworks with casings longer than 1.5 inches or bigger than ¼ inch
  • Aerial bombs, repeating bombs, and torpedoes larger than ⅜ inch
  • Roman candles larger than 10 balls
  • Sky rockets larger than 6 oz.

Fireworks Must Be Stored Properly

It is against the law to store fireworks in places where sunlight can shine onto them through untinted glass. Facilities storing fireworks may not permit open flames and must always have at least one unobstructed exit available. A functional fire extinguisher should be readily available in any facility for selling or storing fireworks.

Age Limits and Safety Distance Regulations for Fireworks

It is unlawful to sell fireworks to individuals under the age of 15. Launching fireworks within 1,000 feet of certain locations, such as hospitals, asylums, churches, schools, public buildings, or places where fireworks are sold, is also prohibited.

Local Ordinances Regarding Fireworks in Louisiana

State law allows local authorities in Louisiana to establish their own fireworks regulations. Municipalities, parishes, and other local governments may regulate the sale, use, and possession of fireworks and other pyrotechnic devices.

New Orleans

New Orleans only allows commercial fireworks displays. Firework technicians must be licensed by the New Orleans Fire Prevention Division to perform fireworks displays. There must be experienced firewatch personnel from the New Orleans Fire Department on hand.

Baton Rouge

According to the Baton Rouge Code of Ordinances, it is generally unlawful for private individuals to keep, transport, or launch private fireworks and other pyrotechnical devices within the parish. Violating this ordinance is punishable by a fine of up to $500 and a jail sentence of up to 6 months.

Fireworks and pyrotechnic displays are exempt from the ordinance if approved by the local sheriff or chief of police in open places, such as public parks.


Terrebonne Parish prohibits private individuals from launching fireworks other than during approved times. The list of approved periods for private fireworks is as follows:

  • On New Year’s Eve, between dusk on December 31 and 1 a.m. on January 1
  • On New Year’s Day, between dusk and 10 p.m.
  • During Independence Day, between dusk and 10 p.m.


Shreveport regulates the use and possession of consumer fireworks within city limits.

Private individuals may not own or launch bottle rockets, sky rockets with sticks, or sparklers containing chlorates and perchlorates.

The sale and explosion of authorized fireworks in Shreveport are only authorized during the following times:

  • June 16th at noon through June 20 at 10 p.m.
  • July 1st at noon through July 5th at 10 p.m.
  • December 15th at noon through January 1st at 10 p.m.

During those permitted times, it is illegal to discharge, ignite, or explode fireworks between 10 p.m. and 8 a.m. except on December 31st from 10 p.m. to 12 a.m. and on January 1st from 12 a.m. to 1 a.m.

Firework Safety Tips

Fireworks safety is important to ensure a fun and enjoyable experience while minimizing the risk of accidents and injuries. When handling fireworks legally, follow these essential safety tips to ensure your safety:

  • Never launch fireworks indoors or around flammable objects like bushes or trees.
  • Always keep a water hose or a bucket to extinguish fires.
  • Some fireworks are duds and may fail to launch, fire, or detonate. Always wait for a few minutes before approaching a dud, then dip it in a bucket of water to neutralize the propellant. Never attempt to re-light duds.
  • Always supervise children and teenagers around fireworks.
  • Unless directions specify it’s safe, never launch fireworks directly from your hands to avoid burn injuries. Light them from the ground instead.
  • Avoid mixing alcohol and fireworks. Using fireworks while alcohol-impaired considerably increases the risk of injury or death.

Contact Dudley DeBosier Injury Lawyers After a Fireworks Accident

Have you or a loved one been injured in a fireworks accident due to negligent fireworks users or a manufacturing defect? You may be entitled to compensation from the at-fault party.

At Dudley DeBosier Injury Lawyers, our team of Louisiana personal injury lawyers can help you gather evidence and obtain financial compensation for your injuries and damages.

This content has been reviewed by Chad Lederman, Director of Legal Operations at our New Orleans office.

Related Posts

You Pay Us Nothing Unless We Win.

Schedule a consultation and we will review your case for FREE.

Send this to a friend